Welcome to Berserk!

“I think that the most important thing a woman can have–next to talent, of course–is her hairdresser.” –Joan Crawford

Indeed the name of this blog is borrowed from one of my favorite Joan Crawford films in which she plays Monica Rivers, the ringmistress of a travelling circus. It’s goofy and campy and I love it!

joanberserkbw

So welcome to Berserk!, where I’ll be writing mostly about all things vintage: fashion, film, books, recipes, and more! Of course, a dash of the modern age will work its way in every now and again, but the focus will be on all things vintage and retro.

I’ve loved the retro side of life since childhood. One of my favorite things to do as a kid was to stay home “sick” and watch classic game shows all day. Match Game, Name That Tune, and Press Your Luck were some of my favorites. Classic TV shows, movies, and music have also been a part of my life for as long as I can remember. Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory was (and still is) one of my most favorite movies. And this was one of my favorite cartoons:

I’ve been collecting vintage clothes (mostly dresses) for around 12 years that I enjoy wearing for special occasions. Other vintage things I collect include books, jewelry, Polaroid cameras, and other odds and ends that I come across in antique shops and other places. Have I mentioned I love to shop yet? There’s nothing like stumbling on that perfect find, especially if it’s on sale!

By day I work as a cataloging and metadata librarian at a large public library, which is almost too good to be true because it’s a job I truly love and enjoy. I spend the rest of my time reading, baking, watching classic films, and wrangling our six cats (almost a full time job in itself, let me tell you).

I hope you’ll stick around and enjoy Berserk!, and I’d love to hear from you! Are you a vintage collector? What’s your favorite classic film? Drop me a line, and let me know!

Leave a Reply

